Houston Havens

Interview: Kay Jaybee – Knowing Her Place ~ @kay_jaybee @cw1985

5 Comments

Interview

Hello and Welcome to my blog.

Thank you- I’m delighted to be here to talk about my book, Knowing Her Place– the third part of The Perfect Submissive Trilogy.

Knowing Her Place200With her head full of unanswered questions, exhausted from her fairytale experience at the hands of Dr Ewen, Lady Tia, and the staff of the adult entertainment service provided by The Retreat, Jess Sanders is desperate to leave Scotland, and return to her usual submissive position at the exclusive Fables Hotel in Oxford.

Having been thwarted in his plans to keep Jess at The Retreat permanently, its owner David Proctor isn’t willing to let Jess go back to her dominatrix, Miss Sarah, and her employer, Mrs Peters, without sending her on one final mission. Only if she succeeds in her task, will Proctor remove the collar of servitude he has locked around Jess’s neck.

With a list of five unknown addresses in her hand, Jess Sanders is placed in a car and driven from The Retreat towards England. With no idea what or who awaits her at the first stop, all Jess can hope for is that her journey will eventually take her back to where she belongs.

To the Fables Hotel, where Jess Sanders truly knows her place.

 

First, why don’t you tell us a little bit about this book? Something that’s not in the blurb.

Not only is Knowing Her Type the finale of the physical and mental journey of discovery undertaken by Jess Sanders as she learns to become a professional submissive, but a psychological journey as well.

In the first part of the trilogy, The Perfect Submissive, Jess is shocked to find herself identified as a potential submissive by Mrs Peters, the manageress of the Fables Hotel adult entertainment facility. In part two, The Retreat, Jess has to put into practice all she has learnt during her training to become a professional submissive to survive a warped pseudo fairytale experience.

In Knowing Her Place however, Jess is forced to asked questions about her life- and its future. She knows that she’s a born submissive – but is the Fables Hotel, where her sexually subservient lifestyle began, where she belongs? Is it her home?  If it is, is there anyone waiting for her, Jess the woman, rather than Jess the submissive, is she manages to work her way back through its familiar doors?

 

What adversities did you face as an aspiring author?

The biggest problem I faced as an aspiring author was self inflicted! Lack of confidence in my work held me back for a long time, stopping me from taking the leap from writing short stories to novels.

In the beginning I also worried about what people would think of me if they knew I wrote erotica- these days I am very open about it- and very proud of my work- but in the early days I hardly told a soul!

 

What do you believe is your best marketing tool to sell your books?

It would be a close run thing between my web site (www.kayjaybee.me.uk), Twitter and Facebook- and good reviews on Amazon and Goodreads.

 

What do you think is the biggest misconception that readers have about authors in general?

That we make lots of money and sit around all day doing very little until we have a creative burst, and then scribble words down furiously for an hour or so, before putting our feet up again.

The reality is working a10-14 hour day, earning about 20p and hour, with no job security at all. Good job we’re all addicted to doing it really!

 

How much research do you put into your books before writing them?

None at all. I just use my imagination.

 

Why did you choose this genre to write?

I didn’t really choose erotica- it sort of picked me. I hadn’t written anything for years, when I was sat in a coffee shop one day, 10 years ago, and a story popped into my head that was so naughty it made my toes tingle. I had no choice but to write it down. I haven’t stopped since!

 

What makes all your long hours of writing worth it?

Occasionally I get lovely emails and messages on Facebook and Twitter thanking me for my work. My favourite ‘thank yous’ have come from couples who have read my work together, telling me how much I’ve improved their love lives. Good reviews are always wonderful as well- they always make my day. I love the fact that my words have made people happy.

 

 If you can say one thing to your readers, what would that be?

Thank you. Without you I couldn’t be a writer- and I wouldn’t be able to do the most amazing job in the world!

 

Sinfully Fun 

 If you were granted 3 wishes what would they be?

I wish that I hadn’t been such good girl when I was younger.

I wish to see my erotica on a mainstream bookshop shelf.

I wish that I didn’t get so dizzy when bending to touch my toes…

What’s your guilty pleasure?  

3 o’clock in the afternoon- I’m saying no more…

Do you have any hidden talents? 😉 

I was born knowing how to flirt with delivery men- really, it’s gift!

 

Would you rather….

Read a paperback or on an ereader?  Paperback

Drink champagne or beer?  Beer

Heels or flats?  Flats

Facebook or Twitter?  Twitter

Go to the beach or go to a wintery mountain retreat?  Wintery mountain retreat

 

Is there anything else you’d like to add?

Many thanks for letting me stop by on my Knowing Her Place Blog Tour!

Although each of The Perfect Submissive Trilogy novels can be read on their own, you’ll get far more out of Jess’s BDSM adventure if you follow it from the beginning. You can buy each novel from Amazon, and at all good paperback and e-book retailers.

Per Sub 3

The Perfect Submissive

Amazon UK | Amazon US

The Retreat

Amazon UK | Amazon.com

Knowing Her Place

Amazon UK | Amazon.com

 

Happy reading,

Kay xx

rosepagebreak60

authorbio

Kay Jaybee wrote The Perfect Submissive Trilogy, (The Perfect Submissive, The Retreat, Knowing Her kayjaybeePlace, Xcite, 2012-14), and the novels Making Him Wait, (Sweetmeats Press, 2012), and The Voyeur (Xcite, 2012), (Xcite 2012), as well as the novellas, Not Her Type: Erotic Adventures With A Delivery Man (2nd ed. 1001 NightsPress, 2013), Digging Deep (Xcite, 2013), A Sticky Situation, (Xcite, 2012), and The Circus, (Sweetmeats Press). She has also written the anthologies Christmas Kink, (KDP, 2013), The Collector (Austin & Macauley, 2012 & 2008), The Best of Kay Jaybee (Xcite, 2012), Tied to the Kitchen Sink, Equipment, (All Romance, 2012), Yes Ma’am (Xcite e-books, 2011), Quick Kink One and Quick Kink Two (Xcite e-books, 2010). Kay has had over 80 short stories published by Cleis Press, Black Lace, Mammoth, Xcite, Penguin, Seal, and Sweetmeats Press.

Details of Kay’s work, past, present and future can be found at www.kayjaybee.me.uk

You can follow Kay on –

Twitter- https://twitter.com/kay_jaybee

Facebook –http://www.facebook.com/KayJaybeeAuthor

Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3541958-kay-jaybee

Brit Babes Site- http://thebritbabes.blogspot.co.uk/

 

Kay also writes contemporary romance as Jenny Kane – www.jennykane.co.uk

 

WMS_blogtour

 

Author: houstonhavens

Houston Havens is an international and national Best Seller of Romance from erotic to main steam. Reviewers say her books are 5 star quality and should be the next block buster movie of the year!

5 thoughts on “Interview: Kay Jaybee – Knowing Her Place ~ @kay_jaybee @cw1985

  1. Many thanks for inviting me over- and for such great questions! xxx

  2. Kay, I really enjoyed reading your interview, it filled in some of the interesting bits I did not at first see when I read it, and the info about your preferences to champagne/beer or beach/mountain gives us an idea of the real person and not what as you put it working for a couple of hours and leading a life of leisure as some are portrayed

  3. Good for you, Kay! Erotic romance authors still face some challenges, but it’s not as bad as it used to be. So happy for you!

  4. Thanks Anita! It’s an uphill struggle some days- but it’s usually worth the fight!! Lol- to be honest, I’m not that mad on beer- but I really dislike champagne! I’d rather have a nice cool glass of white or a baileys, or a whiskey… Kd is the beer drinker!! xx

  5. Pingback: Knowing Her Place by Kay Jaybee Interview 💕 | Can't Stop Reading! 💕📖

Tell me what you're thinking

